Introduction to Ayurveda

Ayurveda is an age-old holistic healing system with its origins in Sri Lanka and India. It has been influenced by traditional Chinese medicine, Western herbal medicine, and modern medical practices, all grounded in the concept of achieving harmony within all bodily systems. By harnessing the power of natural resources such as leaves, herbs, and roots, this medicinal system aims to maintain overall human health, as well as to heal and prevent illnesses.

The term derived from ‘ayur’ (life) and ‘veda’ (knowledge), means ‘knowledge of life.’ It uses diet, herbs, and yoga to promote physical and mental health. It’s the world’s oldest healing system, still prevalent today.

The oldest health science in the world

In India, legends abound, and Ayurveda’s origin is no exception. According to one legend, Brahma, a key Hindu deity, created Ayurveda and shared this wisdom with people. These natural remedy-based treatments were passed down through generations. While the precise emergence date remains uncertain, written records from many years ago provide some historical context. Notably, Ayurvedic texts dating back at least 3,500 years describe complex surgical procedures.

The search for harmony & inner peace

Ayurveda focuses on harmony and balance, not only within the body but also between individuals and their environment.
According to Ayurveda, every human being is an interconnected and complex system that includes body, energy, mind and spirit. Therefore, Ayurveda does not focus on symptoms, but aims to diagnose and treat the root cause of an imbalance that is responsible for the disease. Symptoms are not problems to be treated, but warning signs of an imbalance at a much deeper level. Ayurveda emphasizes that suppressing natural bodily processes is unhealthy and can lead to disease. It emphasizes the need for moderation in diet, sleep, and sexual intercourse. However, when following your natural urges, it’s important to stay within reasonable limits.

Ayurveda elements & their interactions

According to Ayurveda, the entire cosmic creation consists of five elements called Pancha Maha-Bhoota. These five elements are made up of three doshas: Vata, Pitta and Kappa

  • “Vata”  (air, ether)            –  Vata stands for mental and physical mobility.
  • “Pitta”  (fire, water)          –  This dosha ensures good digestion, contentment and a clear mind.
  • Kapha”  (Earth, Water)  –  Kapha represents the strength, resilience, and stability of the body.
0 +

Make Your Stay Memorable

Follow us and stay updated
with all the news and offers

Pick Up & Drop​

Welcome Drink​


Scroll to Top